Hello from Tet

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just received a 7-8 weeks bearded dragon from a breeder here in Canada. I don't know the exact specifics of him but he's pretty chill. Maybe you guys can tell what kind of beardie he is?

This is my first time keeping a beardie and there are lots of things that I am anxious of.

I just got him 5 days ago, maybe the relocation stress is still there.
I've been trying to teach him drink from the water bowl. He knows the water is there but doesn't want to drink from there. I think he got spoiled because of me dropping water droplets directly to him :lol:

My concerns:
- Low appetite, maybe the relocation stress? Or not enough UVB because of the lighting I'm using? Not to mention I have a screen top that halves the UVBs(I heard).
- Only eats dusted crickets for some reason, ignores non dusted.

This is my beardie:
YnjgLPp.jpg

jEuz6qE.jpg

UcN2alL.jpg

Diet:
Dusting: Mix of Calcium without D3 + ZooMed Reptivite
Food:
Cricket (either dusted or not), Dandelion Greens, Papaya

This is my set up:
Enclosure:
40 gallon glass aquarium, cardboarded on half
Screen top with double light dome on top

Lighting:
ZooMed Repti Basking Spot Lamp (100W)
ZooMed Reptisun 10.0UVB (Compact Fluorescent)

Substrate:
Reptile Carpet

Temperature (stick on thermometer):
Basking: ~110F-115 F
Cool side: ~85-90F

Light Schedule (via day/night timer):
On: 7:00AM
Off: 9:00PM

If there's any information you need feel free to ask! Thanks guys!

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
Welcome to the forum and so glad you have asked -- please get rid of the compact UVB-- they are basically no good -- this is what you need and is most recommended on this forum
Which UVB light should I use?