New Owner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jezzzikuh

My best friend got two bearded dragons a couple of months ago and just found out she was pregnant and she's paranoid and getting rid of them, I offered to take one.

I'm a vet assistant at a clinic, but we only deal with dogs and cats (if anyone has any dog and cat related questions, shoot them my way! I got you!!) and so I'm lacking in knowledge on the reptile department.

I have a few questions about habitat set up, some health concerns she's been having with him (we assume it's a him right now), and the travel back home (it's a three hour car ride).

One: Ceramic heating for night time when the lights are off, is that the way to go? I know it isn't necessary in most homes but my apartment is on <60f (<15c) every night and I don't want to chance it getting too cold in his tank. (yes I like it really, really cold)

Two: What kind of recommendation do you have for all of the equipment I need? She's giving me everything she has but I'm not sure of the quality of each item, and while I want to keep it affordable, I also want to provide the best stuff I can afford. If I could have a couple recs for each item, that would be great!

Three: She expressed some concerns about him at the beginning of the week. She said he wasn't growing. She got another at the same time, they started at the same size and now one is significantly bigger than the other. She says he has an appetite and that he's alert and active. I sent her a text double checking that none of that has changed and I also asked her if he was darker than usual or had dark marks under his chin and belly and I'm just waiting on her to text back. Both of her dragons are housed in the same tank right now, if that makes a difference.

Four: The ride from my house to her's is three hours. What is the best way for me to travel him that long for it to be as safe and least stressful as possible?