Meet King Smite

Status
Not open for further replies.

KingSmite

Hello! We are NEW reptile owners and are welcome to any and all suggestions. However, please keep some of the lingo basic and I am still learning.

My son desperately wanted a bearded dragon, so I finally gave in for his birthday. Here is what we have:
- Juvenile dragon that was given to us by a family who knows them well (healthy and well handled)
- Petsmart habitat kit & a few extra items

My initial questions:
- What do I do with the lights at night??
- Where the best place to keep up with his insect diet? Mail order or Petsmart??
- Recommendations on our current setup
- Anything else I need to know?

I've already grown attached to this little guy and want to give him the best life possible.
99170-246441663.jpg
99170-6013091635.jpg

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Welcome to the forum! I will try to help answer your questions the best I can. I do recommend upgrading the lighting from the petsmart kit. It's important to use a high quality UVB Light and they are absolutely worth the investment. What is the size of the tank you have? I can help you find an appropriate light based on the tank size. If the kit came with a red light I would remove that and not use it. They need bright white light and heat for basking (as well as UVB which should sit right next to the basking light). It's important to have accurate readings of surface temperatures around the tank. Having a couple of digital thermometers with probes or an IR temp gun is very helpful. You want the basking surface to be between about 100-110 and a gradient down to about 75-85 on the cool side surfaces.

At night the lights should be off. Shoot for around a 14hr daylight cycle. It's helpful to have an outlet timer so you can automate the light cycle. As long as the temps in the tank stay above 65 overnight no nighttime heat is needed.