New bearded owner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zachh86

Hey everyone I'm a new bearded dragon, name is coco we got Him/she last Friday(unsure of sex yet). We got coco from petsmart. He seemed to be the most activate healthy of the 3 in the tank. So far coco seems timid and unsure of things, he does alot of basking but moves around his cage pretty actively and regularly. He has 40 gal tank and he's roughly 6-7 inches right now. I'm having a bit of trouble Getting him to eat right now from what I read that might just be due to being in a new place.he seems to eat a few of the dead worms or crickets but never more than 5 or so and he has alittle interest in veggies but not much But I would love to hear your thoughts on it. So far he seems like a pretty active fiesty fella, can't wait to see more of. His personality come out. Here are some pictures of him and his home. Any tips are welcome as I'm brand new to this. Temp in his basking area sits around 90-95 and. His cool area sits around 75-85
His cage and lights all came from 40 gal pet smart starter kit.
99126-9419658961.jpg
99126-5425009080.jpg
99126-9858753220.jpg

rjaimz1

Do you have a temp gun to accurately measure temps? if not what are you using? What are you feeding your beardie,specifically? Here are some lighting tips....The light on the hot side the basking light is needed for daytime (12-14 hours on and 12-10 hours off) having the correct temperature for a Bearded Dragon's digestion is important for their well-being.
young Bearded Dragons prefer 105-110 degrees F. while older prefer 100-105 F. That's for the surface of the basking area. They should also have access to a cooler area across the tank from the basking spot, and this is called the "cool side". The cool side should be 70-85 degrees F. for all ages. Night time temps in the 70's is good and necessary as long as it does not drop below 65.