new bearded dragon

Status
Not open for further replies.

nardia

hi my daughter just got pet bearded dragon ,and one shop sold us a ceramic heater to replace the basking light with a temperature control system .the next shop said this was no good and should have a basking light have two uv lights 2& 10 from what remember .Any advice appreciated

Nardia

Martadragon017

Hatchling Member
You will need a basking lamp that emits light, and a temp gun to read the temps. The basking surface area temperature should be from 105 degrees Fahrenheit to 115 degrees Fahrenheit. You will also need a good UVB lamp, not a coil or compact bulb but a long tube one. The brand also matters, I'm not an expert on which brands are good and which are bad, but if you post which one you have some1 else can probably confirm whether or not it's good. Also, absolutely no loose substrates or colored bulbs, they are not good for your beardie in any way. Loose substrates cause impaction and colored bulbs can damaged your dragons eyesight, along with many other minuses. Other than that, if you could post some pics of your setup that would be great, also list what kinds of lamps you have, wattage, brand etc. Hope this helps. :)

nardia

Original Poster
Hi Than ks for your reply

Exo Terra Sun Glo Basking Lamp - 100W
Exo Terra T8 Ballast Unit - 30W
Exo Terra Medium Glo Light
Exo Terra Digital Thermometers x 2
Exo Terra Repti Glo 10% Fluorescent Bulb - 30W
Exo Terra Repti Glo 2% Fluorescent Bulb - 30W
Sandpaper Mats x 2
http://www.thepetexpress.co.uk/reptile-vivarium-starter-kits/vivexotic-viva-bearded-dragon-starter-kit/?gclid=Cj0KCQiAq6_UBRCEARIsAHyrgUx56o9-0bWShiM8AHsFACb_jtZv-XtNs7q2IwjWEHGe8ADUo6Em3IwaAjp_EALw_wcB