Newbie to the Beardies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hboyd1

Hello! I am a Special Education teacher, and am wanting a classroom pet to help my kiddos with education, learning social skills, and many other things! I am a huge animal lover, but have never owned a bearded dragon before. I have been doing some research about them, but was hoping I could get some advice from real owners, not just an article! I have a few questions about them such as:
Are they good around children? I've read they're very docile.
Is a classroom environment suitable for them?
Are females more docile than males?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
They are very docile and in my experience are good with children. Both genders seem to interact with humans similarly but can get quite aggressive toward other dragons. They do require a lot of attention and care and their equipment is not cheap, especially if you duplicate a home setup and classroom setup which is a good idea. Young dragons especially require a lot of care and interaction with multiple meals per day. They are quite curious animals and thrive when they are in an enriching environment so I wouldn't have one live in a tank in a classroom constantly but if you have one as your own pet and bring it in to the classroom frequently it may work. It's also good to keep in mind that they have a captive live span that can be similar to that of a dog so their care is a long term commitment. There are folks on here who can share direct experience with them as classroom pets and let you know more about how that works out.

NinaAmbroshia

Hatchling Member
From my experience with beardies, gender doesn't really make a difference with how docile they are. Age does though, young or baby dragons can be hyper. I was surprised the energy level difference, even just from the 2 year old i knew, to what my 7 month old is.