Brand new and almost ready!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hector22

Hi guys!

I'm very new with the whole bearded dragon life...
So I decided to do a very deep research before actually adopting my future dragon, I've done extensive homework on the topic and I still have a lot of questions...
(First thing is that im not sure if im in the right topic, I apologize if im not)

So I bought this 40 galon tank, that "includes everything I need", but I would like more guidence towards that because I feel like I am missing something..

So its the "Reptihabitat 40 galon one" it came with "reptisun 10.0 uvb and repti basking spot lamp 100w, it also came with Reptisand, but I am aware that that is not recommended for younger dragons, so I bought a terrarium liner in the mean time, I also bought a big tall log, a hiding spot, the plates for the food and for the water and it came with some food already..

Im aware of the food habits, I just wanna know if theres anything else that I might be missing or I should be aware of.. because I really wanna give this little one the best place he can have.

I appreciate all comments, answers, suggestions, anything

Thank you all in advance!

H.

Heres a pic of how it looks so far..

92943-8940054564.jpg

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner
Hi. Those kits are junk. I'm glad you got rid of the sand. You need a good thermometer. A temp gun or a digital with a wire probe put on the basking spot are the only ways to get the correct temp. Also if that came with a coil/ compact uvb you want to replace that with a reptisun 10.0 T5 long tube about 18 inches would work and make sure that the basking light and uvb are next to each other so when he basks he also get uvb. :D

Hector22

Original Poster
I appreciate the quick answer, it came with a thermometer too! Uhm what's the difference with the reptisun that you mention and the one that came with it? Other than the size?

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner