First Time Beardie Parent

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, everyone!

When I was in elementary school, we had a bearded dragon as a class pet. I was instantly in love and would stay in during recess to play with him. However, my parents were against the idea of getting one after I moved up to the next grade. Now, I'm a graduate student in Louisiana and finally got a bearded dragon. His name is Wilson and I'm already in love! He's a juvenile beardie and he loves to take naps in my hand.

I''m just worried that I'm not doing everything right. I bought a bearded dragon kit (20 gallon tank). It came with food, calcium dust, sand, thermometer, water and food bowls, heating light, basking ligh, UVB light, and the fixtures for them. I bought him a basking log and have a hammock and reptile disinfectant on its way. I got him from Petsmart and asked what they've been feeding him. They said crickets, lettuce, and carrots. I even got him some mustard greens and strawberries from our own garden. I wash all the fruit before hand and try to get it from organic stores. I've given him all of that with food pellets also. I try to feed him three times a day just to be safe. He eats 6-8 crickets a day with the calcium dust and im worried that's not enough. I've read that it depends on their appetite but I just want to be sure he's eating enough. Also, my apartment isn't insulated very well and gets cold easily. So I put him in an empty closet in my bedroom with the door open to try and contain some of the heat. However, his thermometer shows that it's over 100F. Is that too hot for him? He hasn't been opening his month but he stays toward the edges of the tank. I don't know if he's just looking out or he's too warm.

Basically my questions are: Is he eating enough crickets? Am I slowly cooking him? And is there anything else I need to be doing?

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member