Egg Incubator Advice or Help Please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vivi_ends013

Beardie name(s)
King Julien
So I am a bit new to this whole breeding thing. I have already had my two beardies mate, and now there is a good chance that my female is carrying. I need to prepare for eggs just in case and can't find out exactly what materials I need. I have recently read some articles where Vermitile substrate, I think that is what it is called but I am not sure, was used to lay the eggs on. But I am not sure exactly what incubator I need or where to find it. I need a relatively small one for just a single clutch. I was looking them up and also wondered if some do not require substrate? I politely request that you instruct me on what I need amd how to assemble it for a single clutch of beardy eggs. Also I need to try to keep a pretty low budget.

Rankins

Gray-bearded Member
I build incubators all the time, I have made about 10 in the last year. I build them for free for people other than the expense for supplies.
Some of my reptile eggs (not bearded dragons) incubate for 6-8 months and my incubators work flawlessly. I have been building them the exact same way for 30 years because they work so well.
I'll try to post some pictures of my incubators tonight. Right now I have 4 of them...
As for the vermiculite I mix it at a 2:1 ratio by weight, 2 parts vermiculite to 1 part water. I have used pearlite before also...but I like vermiculite better.

Rankins

Gray-bearded Member
Please know an incubator doesn't need to be as nice as mine. I have even made them out of camping coolers.
My big refrigerator incubator, heated with two 75 watt ceramic heaters, has a fan for circulation. Thermostat is a Herpstat 1, it turns on the heat and fan. The extra ceramic heaters in there were replaced by the black stubby ones. The white ones are not hooked up.....[ximg]85426 8965108781[/ximg][ximg]85426 1193924137[/ximg][ximg]85426 560382493[/ximg][ximg]85426 1582480362[/ximg]