Rescued an adult Beardie. Concerned about behavior.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redsmom

Hello and thanks for having me. I recently (3/1/2021) adopted an adult bearded dragon. My best friend died unexpectedly and this dragon was going to be left in his apartment to die. I have zero experience. I’ve researched extensively and have happily spent a small fortune. We have her in a 2 by 4 viv (she was in a 4 by 1 glass tank) with all the proper lighting (mvb 110 watt, two hides, a basking spot, a cool side, a full length terrarium light with a 10 uvb bulb, a safe substrate, plants, etc) Her former owner did the very best he could but fed her only crickets. She’s now fed lots of greens with about 10 crickets a day. She gets baths now and has been to the vet, has had stool samples and vet says she’s healthy. I’m very concerned that In the last few days she hasn’t come out of her hide, hasn’t been basking and just seems depressed. I added a hammock a few days ago. She just finished shedding. Should I be concerned? I want to give her a wonderful life. She deserves it. I’m just new at this and am very concerned that she hasn’t left her hide in two days. Can someone please give advice? Thank you so much!

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4