New Enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samsal8

Hi everyone! I’m new to the bearded dragon family and need some help. I did some research before and calculations and bought a start up kit only to do even MORE research after the fact and see that what was included in the kit is either useless or bad for my beardie. I just want my dragon to have a good, happy, and healthy life in its environment. Can anyone offer some pointers as to what to get instead of what’s in the kit and maybe whether or not some of it is good for a baby dragon. Thanks!

The kit includes:
20 Gallon glass terrarium
(1) 12" Hood w/fluorescent lamp
1 Combo deep dome lamp fixture
(1) 10 lb VitaSand substrate
1 Reptile thermometer
1 Food/water dish
1 Bag of food
1 Repti Calcium

Thank you!!

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
Samsal8":2d01a491 said:
Hi everyone! I’m new to the bearded dragon family and need some help. I did some research before and calculations and bought a start up kit only to do even MORE research after the fact and see that what was included in the kit is either useless or bad for my beardie. I just want my dragon to have a good, happy, and healthy life in its environment. Can anyone offer some pointers as to what to get instead of what’s in the kit and maybe whether or not some of it is good for a baby dragon. Thanks!

The kit includes:
20 Gallon glass terrarium this is going to need to be upgraded very soon - they outgrow them very quickly I would look at getting a tank 75-120 gallon he will out grow a 40 gallon as well
(1) 12" Hood w/fluorescent lamp what is the brand and bulb? You will need to upgrade this as well I recommend a 24" fixture w/ reflector -- and a Reptisun 10.0 T 5
1 Combo deep dome lamp fixture what is in this NO colored bulbs! basking temps need to be 105-110 taken w/ a digital probe thermometer