100 gallon tank proper set up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Azure

Hey, so I'll be taking care of an older bearded dragon and I've got a 100 gallon (48Lx16.5Wx18?tall). The top is partitioned into two sections of 22.5x16.5 but open with no closed top.

What would the ideal lighting set up be for a glass tank of this size? I have a feeling his current set up is a bit subpar and I want him to have a nice home for his last few years(hes close to 9/10).

I'm fairly new to this stuff so if anyone would be kind enough to post links to the products they mention that would be greatly appreciated. Lighting is a challenge for me lol, and I'd hate to pick the wrong light and end up hurting him

Also, he has an issue of one eye not opening for past few days with some crusty gunk
I've read that an unpasteurized honey/warm water solution rubbed on the eye gently can sooth a mild infection if that's what it is. What should I do?

Thanks for you help.

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
I am using a 24" fixture for a 4x2x2 tank - so a 24" should be good for yours - I would get the Reptisun 10.0 T 5 bulb and put it inside the tank of approx 12-15 inches from your basking decor --
as far as the eye that is is what is recommended what you asked the honey / water administered w/ a q tip to the eye -- some others can advise on that and the tank but I would go w/ the 24' fixture - you dont want it the same length as the tank - they need to be able to get out of those UVB rays w/ out having to hide from the UVB
Karrie

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4