Can't get my temp up high enough

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin124

There are already questions about this but, I am new to this. I am getting a bearded dragon soon but my tanks hot side has only reached 88 degrees F. I live in a cooler area and am worried I can't keep the heat up, is there anything I can do? I already have a heat light going. Any help is appreciated...

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

Keeping their temperatures optimal during the winter can definitely be hard sometimes!
What type of thermometer are you using to measure the temps with?
You could try using a ceramic heat emitter for extra heating but no extra light.
If you have some pictures of your tank setup that we could see, we can try to help be sure
your lights are placed correctly, etc.

Tracie

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
88 deg F in tbe overall warm zone is fine.

What is the temperature at the basking spot and how exactly are measuring the temperatures and how long are you giving the tank to stabilize thermally before attempting your temperature measurements.
<< the tank wont warm up instantly ( it takes time for the surfaces to warm up if cold and for the air to warm up and start circulating . >>

Is the tank glass tank with a "open" top ( mesh lids are USELESS when It comes to establishing a stable thermal microclimate inside a vivarium).
Example of heat balance calcs for a typical YANK style glass open top beardie tank and why it's such a bad design : viewtopic.php?f=34&t=236332&p=1816614#p1816614

Easy to convert an open top tank to a thermally superior front opening tank : viewtopic.php?f=34&t=244922&p=1863668#p1863668

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hi there,

I agree, high 80s in the warm end is fine. The basking surface temp is the temp you want to be warmer than that.

Like mentioned, measuring with an accurate device is paramount.
Sometimes though it's just trial and error with different wattages, or different basking heights.

-Brandon

Merlin124