Where to find Adult sized enclosure??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coops409

I can't seem to find (other than custom made & overpriced) an adequate sized enclosure to upgrade to.

My beardy is 19" long & about 5 months old. She's in a 36" x 18" x 18" right now & quickly growing out of it. She grows about 2" every couple weeks.

Is there like an industry standard that beardy owners upgrade to after the 40 gal? I can't seem to find anything name brand.

My only condition is that it opens from the front rather than top

I have been hearing a 120 gallon (48x24x24) is the new industry standard.

I have heard APCages, DIYCages, and ZenCages are good. I have had no experience with them, so I can't say if they are good or not.

When you are upgrading to an enclosure that large, I would recommend building one yourself out of melamine panels. It's much less expensive than buying an enclosure, and you can make it how you like. My last 3 beardies have been in melamine enclosures once they outgrew their smaller one.

MrSpectrum

Gray-bearded Member
Coops409":1hgu6rvo said:
Is there like an industry standard that beardy owners upgrade to after the 40 gal? I can't seem to find anything name brand.
I wouldn't [call it] (yet) an "industry standard"--more like a consensus recommendation of experts for "ideal size" of 120gal (4x2x2) or larger ("as much as you can afford"). Or as at least one source puts it:
Length: 2-3x length of lizard
Depth: length of lizard
Height: length of lizard
Which comes out pretty close to 4x2x2.

Building vs. buying seems like a good idea (well, it is for some/many), but it depends on your DIY skills, concepts, etc.
A compromise is a kit, such as Zen Habitats, Talking Serpents, and others.
For a DIY, check out the DIY forum, and info on the Crossfire Enclosure (a basic 4 x 2 x 2 that's easy to modify/customize). I believe the Talking Serpents kit is based on the Crossfire.