Nightlight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mossycrab

(This is my first time using the site please dont bite) I've had my beardie since August of last year and have been struggling on what to do regarding the need of a nightlight. Is it entirely necessary? I'd feel bad leaving him in complete darkness and worry he'd get cold at night. I'm currently using a bulb labeled as ExoTerra Reptile UVB100 for his nightlight (granted I'm terrified since it is pretty bright and I worry it affects his sleep) his actual basking light is a ExoTerra intense basking spot 120v 60Hz 75w. The hot side is typical 85 - 100° depending how much I'm messing with the tank. I'm sorry if any of this sounds confusing or silly, I just worry for my little gremlin.

SPandS

Juvie Member
Think of it this way, do you like sleeping in a room with a ceiling light on all night long? I know I don't. If you need to up the temps at night use a ceramic heat emitter. They put out no light just heat. I use them for both of my dragons as I live in an older house with drafty old windows. Make sure the fixture is rated for the wattage and has a porcelain or ceramic base as che ( short for ceramic heat emitter) can get very hot.

A lot of people use them with a thermostat so it will turn on and off as necessary. I myself use a dome with a dimmer and just adjust when it needs to be.

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
Where did you get your dragon?- please post pic of your set up -- go to top of page click on user image uploader - down load pics of tank and set up - click post reply click on XIMG at top of the message and it will post--- get rid of the night light- dragons are like us they sleep in the dark- basking and UVB should be on 12 hrs and off 12 hrs -- the night light hurts their eyes -- what are your temps dropping to at nite?- tank temp should be no less than 65 degrees-- basking 90-105 or so cool side of tank around 80=-- Karrie

Gormagon

Extreme Poster