I’m very confused about lighting requirements for my beardie

Status
Not open for further replies.

kinleigh

Hi, I’m new to owning bearded dragons or any reptile in general. I read that you need UVA and UVB and now I read that I only need a tube fluorescent light and a heat lamp?

I’ve re read so many forums and I’m just so confused as to how to light my tank.

I was going to buy a ”repti-sun 5.0 T5-Ho Uvb fluorescent lamp”

What else do I need besides that? Does it provide UVA also?
Do I only need a heat lamp now? And what kind of heat lamp do I even use?

I see some people with three or four lamps on their cages and then a tube inside and I don’t understand any of it :(

My dragon has a 100 watt flukers mercury bulb in it right now and I read that you need a full light fixture (tube) across the tank because the mercury bulb is only in the basking spot. I’m just using that because that’s what the people gave me when I bought her off of craigslist a month ago, she’s 7 years old in a 75gallon tank.

Thebeardieclan

Beardies should have both a UVB and a basking light. They get everything they need from that. A UVB should be cross tank so they get nutrients from eating all throughout their tank. While the basking should only be in one on one side of the tank so they can do exactly that -- bask.

VenusAndSaturn

Sub-Adult Member
You need a basking bulb, and then a UVB tube light. Some people need a second heating element if temps drop below 65 during the night, which would be a ceramic heat emitter.

The basking bulb should be positioned on one side of the tank, while the UVB should either go across the whole tank or half of the tank. If it goes across half it should be mainly over the basking spot (either behind, next to or in front of the bulb) and then a bit in the middle.