Good Setup? Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steble

Hey y'all, so I've been researching about bearded dragons for quite a while, and I'm wondering if this setup is okay. I'm still a noob, so I'm a bit nervous about getting into this reptile-hobby. The enclosure looks pretty boring right now, so I might add a few branches or something later.

93421-3061180497.jpg
93421-5491954815.jpg

So I'll tell ya'll in detail about this setup.
The tank is 50 gallons with non-adhesive shelf-liner as the substrate. The heat lamp is a bright white 70 watt flood light that heats up the basking spot in between 100-110° F, and the UVB light is the reptisun 10.0 T5 output fluorescent tube. Both lights are 10 inches away from the basking spot, which is made up of bricks. The lights are also under the screen because I don't want the screen to interfere with the lighting. I use two AcuRite thermometers, one in the hot and cold areas, to measure temperature. (It takes 40 min for accurate readings, which is why both readings are the same in the pictures). I live in a hot area so my house mainly is 70-80° F, which helps the cool side not get too cold. I have a shoebox and blanket for a hide, with two bowls next to it for the salads and water. I also have a 10 gallon tank underneath the table as a feeding cage for roaches.

My schedule states that the lights turn on at 9:00 AM and turn off at 8:00 PM, which ensures 12 hours of light. I'll also give baths and clean the cage weekly.

Is this setup decent enough for a bearded dragon? Is there anything vital that I need to add or remove? I will add more stuff to make it less plain. Any other advice? :study:

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member