Setting up for metabolic bone disease

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, I'm rescuing a beardie that was found on a train track. He has metabolic bone disease, I need tips on the best tank set up for him.
The vet said he needs to be in a smaller tank, with flat ground. He gets anxiety in anything bigger than a 40 gallon (it looks like, I'm used to fish tanks so thats what I'm basing it off of) and is currently staying in a 20 gallon. I'm going to look for a 30ish one.
What substrate would be best ideal, along with lights? I plan on getting a repti sun uv light for him as well.
This is my first time having a beardie as my own, can anyone help me with specifics on how to set things comfortably up? Taking special care regarding the size of enclosure as well.

Wolfeden

Hatchling Member
Most times a tank of at least 40G would be advised. But I'm not going to second guess a vet, maybe he/she doesn't want the BD to run around too much because of its issues. Maybe you could use a 40G breeder and section it off, or provide some hides and cover to help the beardie feel more comfortable. Then you could expand the open space if/when the BD recovers or acclimates.

I would use a textured non-adhesive shelf liner for the substrate, that will be flat and easy for a compromised BD to move around on.

I would highly recommend going with the T5 10.0 Reptisun tube since it tests out to have some of the highest, and most effective, UVI readings at a reasonable price. And your beardie needs that for sure. Then add a halogen bulb(s) for heat.

Daynaannhall

Original Poster