Please help! How to set up lighting/tank questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhihug

Hello,
I got my bearded dragon, Draco, about 2-3 weeks ago from Petco. I am unsure of his exact age, but he is 12" long so I am guessing that he is around 3-4 months old? I am a teacher and got a grant through the "Pets in the Classroom" organization which allowed me to get a bearded dragon kit for free, as well as 50% off my little dude. I thought I had researched about beardies quite a bit beforehand. I knew to not use the loose substrate that came in the kit and am sure that I am feeding him the correct size crickets as well as the proper types of greens. However, he is starting to act a bit off and I realize it may be due to the inadequate lighting in his enclosure that came with the kit. I am a newbie to reptiles and have never had one before, so I am kind of clueless on how to set up the lighting. Please don't be too hard on me- I am already quite attached to Draco and just want the best for him!

My questions:

1) I've been reading on here and on other sites that I should get a UVB tube light for him, specifically the ReptiSun 10.0 fluorescent tube or Zoo Med Reptisun T5 HO 10.0 UVB. What is the difference between the two? Which one is better/which should I get?

2) Once I get the UVB light, how do I go about attaching it? What kind of fixture do I need? Am I able to put it on top of my wire screen top, or how would I go about putting it inside?

3) What other lighting should I use for the basking side of the tank?

3) Draco is currently in a 20gal Zilla tank with a wire screen lid that sort of slides in and locks in place. I plan to move him to a 40gal as he grows. When should I go about getting him the bigger tank? When I do make the switch, what type of lid do you recommend?

Thank you for your help!

cmoo