Red Basking Light or Not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I was told a red basking light is a poor choice? Is this true? The one I have is an Exo Terra 75w bulb. The box has a bearded dragon on front... at night I use the black night vision bulb.

Hi,apparently the red light is not right,i have one too,an upgrade from how they used to be housed but not right.A Par 38 or appropriate wattage for your need seems to be right,gosh,honestly,its an expensive story this cause everyone says different things.Good luck.

PogoLover

Juvie Member
I am a newbie, but I did a lot of research . . . here is my two cents:

Beardies need (1) general heat source, (2) UVB, (3) hotter basking spot, and (4) something as close to natural sunlight as possible. There are all different types of bulbs out there that achieve one or more of these goals. There are Mercury Vapor Bulbs that supposedly can achieve all of these things, other than heat without light for nighttime. They scare me and are expensive so I decided against that - who knows - maybe I will change my mind in the future.

Assuming that you are not going with a mercury vapor bulb, then you will likely need three items (assuming that your house gets cold at night):

(1) A florescent UVB bulb - for beardies, the consensus (from my research) seems to be that ReptiSun 10.0 UVB tube florescent that runs down a good portion of the cage is probably the safest bet. The compact/coiled UVB bulbs have been associated with eye burning and other health risks, but that was a while back and they could be better now - some say they are better now. I decided not to take the chance.