Craigslist horrors

Status
Not open for further replies.

DudeSkull

So I’m trying to find a cheap tank on Craigslist because I think my adult bearded dragon, Felix, is too big for his 40gal. No biggie, I couldn’t in a million years convince my parents to buy him some fancy new one so an old one will do as long as I scrub the hell out of it.

But as I searched I found some people who were including their dragons WITH the purchase. Some with healthy lizards that they just couldn’t take care of anymore, and some with some seriously unhealthy looking beardies. One lady put in the description that she only feeds her beardie super worms and another guy had his on a diet of spinach and cilantro. One other person is selling two bearded dragons that live together in the same enclosure (adults too, by the looks of it). Amongst those were a few others of scrawny looking beardies who looked like they might have some level of MBD (I’m not sure, I’m not a professional). I hate to sound “preachy” but these all sound like less than ideal conditions...

I am in NO way in a position to go out and purchase these animals and become some sort of “sanctuary”, as much as I’d like too. I’d probably rather leave it to professionals as which leads to my question. Is there anything I can do about this? Are there rescue sanctutaries or anything of the sort I can email these Craigslist entries to? I’m sure I’ve heard of something like that, and they sometimes go hunting through Craigslist to buy sick pets from people and whatnot? I know I could probably cross my fingers and pray that they get sold off to good homes in the first place but you never know. I just want be sure there isn’t any direct action I can take. Thanks!

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member