New Rescue beardie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chon231

Hey everyone! I've used these forums a ton in my research into taking proper care of my new beardie. She is a rescue, I'm not even sure how old. Essentially an older couple went to the hospital for health issues and never had anyone take care of their animals so she was extremely underweight and lethargic. She is putting on weight, eating more, pooping regularly and seems happy with more energy but I just want to make sure she looks okay as I'm a novice. She appears to be shedding, and while the top of her head is turning a bright orange, her back is getting dark lines appearing across it. Nothing that appears too alarming but again, a novice. I'm also having a bit of trouble with temps, the heat tape causes the floor on either side of the tank to reach 100-120 and the taller basking rock which is now under the UVB was reaching 140+ when under the lamp. I've included some pictures and would love any advice! Glad to be a part of this little community xD

iGz1bRE.jpg

iC9oXpQ.jpg

V6OadXZ.jpg

UaMM6o3.jpg

This was also posted in introductions, posting here for visibility and hopefully some initial advice. If that is not allowed I will gladly remove one.

Gormagon

Extreme Poster
I am glad you got him, I feel like he is in better hands now! Just a few suggestions though!

Unplug the heat tape!!! Those temps are waaaaay to hot.
They use heat from above to regulate body heat.
Basking spot..... 95° to 100° for adults...100° to 110° under 1 year old.
Warm end...90° to 95°
Cool end......75° to 80°
If that uvb light has a plastic cover, remove it asap. Plastic and glass block UVB rays.

Chon231

Original Poster
Thanks for the reply! I turn the heat tape off when the lights go on in the morning and turn it on at night if it's colder by the window but I have my IR thermometer to constantly check the temps. No cover on the UVB either though I did finally get it working only a few days ago.