Bearded Dragon Rescue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexalas

I have recently rescued a bearded dragon, while i am not the ideal parent for it as honestly I have no experience.

I can assure you that it's in a much better home now that it was before i adopted it.

I do however have some questions that the googling just doesn't seem to be able to answer.

So question one is this a male or a female?

20161106_141703.jpg

Second question it seems to have way to much loose skin is it about to shed and or is this normal?

20161106_134611.jpg

Finally food, if it's alive the dragon will happily chase it down and lick it up but how do you get it to eat vegetables.

I've followed every guide everything from shaking the vegetables to mimic a moving creature to putting it on a paper towel to give it contrast the dragon literaly has no interest in any of the following.

acorn squash
apples
apricot
artichoke heart
asparagus
bell peppers
blackberries
blueberries
bok choy
butternut squash
cabbage
carrots
celery
chayote
cherries
chicory
collard greens
cranberries
cucumber
endive
figs
grapefruit
grapes
guava
kale
kohlrabi
lentils
mangos
melons
mustard greens
nectarine
okra
papayas
parsnips
peaches
pears
pineapple
plum
prunes
pumpkins
radicchio
raisins
spaghetti squash
strawberries
turnip greens
watermelon
yams
yellow squash
zucchini

... and some of these were really hard to get.

Any help welcome.

Alex

Gormagon

Extreme Poster
He's not about to shed..... He is highly DEHYDRATED!! Give him a bath in warm water and see if he will drink during bath time, if not mist him and see if he will lick the water from his nose. If not you may have to drip water on his nose with an eye dropper.
He also looks to be grossly underweight. Offer him collard, mustard and,or turnip greens dusted with calcium supplements with vitamin D3. If he is eating crickets well, dust those as well.
What kind of setup is he housed in?
Give us a rundown on lighting (basking, UVB)