Black bearded dragon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cthulhu14

Hello everyone I'm new to this and i have a about 5 month bearded dragon and i changed his substrate in his tank to being newspaper from a mat for reptiles. He was perfectly healthy before this but i looked into his tank tonight after changing his substrate and his beard was completely black and half of his upper tail was black and there was throw up in his tank. I'm freaking out because it's the first time I've ever seen him with such a black beard and I'm thinking it's because i made such a radical change to his environment but i just want to make sure it's nothing else

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
If he has thrown up it's not likely related to the change in substrate (both are fine). The black beard means he is in distress and throwing up is usually not a good sign. Has anything changed in his diet recently? What has he been eating? I would try offering a little water by dripping it on his nose and see if he licks at it. That may help him rehydrate after throwing up.

Cthulhu14

Original Poster
I did just add mangos to his diet. He does eat them quite a bit. Some pieces are big. Could the size of them effect that? Most of it was mangos now that i think about it. He's back to his normal self today. Eating and hanging out on his hammock judging me when i walk past. He ate two big dubias this morning.

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
OK I'm glad he seems to be feeling better. It's a good sign that he went after the roaches. Maybe just a fleeting upset stomach. Mango is OK but don't offer a ton of it. Like with most fruit it should be an occasional accessory to salads. Dark leafy greens and things like squash, beans, bell peppers and similar are best in salads. I'd check this list out for some more ideas http://www.beautifuldragons.com/Nutrition.html Overall, shoot for variety as much as you can.