New beardie owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

CowboyTroy0104

Hello all, I am recently new to the beardie world. I have a 10 month old beardie that I’ve had for 2 months. I have him set up in a 75 gallon tank, I have a basking side and a cool/feeding side. I also have a basking light and uvb light as well. He has a hammock on the cool side, a basking perch in the middle and a big basking rock on the basking side that also has a hide hole. I feed him gut loaded superworms, Dubai roaches, sometimes hornworms and have only given him 1 pinky(which I gave to him last week). He also gets a salad everyday as well. I give his calcium w/D3 on Mon, Wed, & Fri. He gets a “bath” every 4 days and I mist him almost everyday. I leave a shallow bowl of fresh water everyday in his tank but he never drinks it. I put a splash of juice in his water yesterday to see if he would drink it, but I’m unsure of if he drank any. Because I am new to all of this, I try my best to provide the care he needs and wanted to reach out to a group that could possibly give me support on how to probably care for him. I would love any advice, tips or tricks, or even any corrections to what I am doing. I do have a few questions:
Is there any other supplements I should be giving him, if so how much/often?
How much does a wellness visit at the vet usually cost?
His beard is super fat, but it’s jiggly, should I be concerned?

I greatly appreciate any insight I can get, thank you!

Welcome to beardieism! Your care seems nice, the diet is varied, and the tank sounds great.

Don't be worried about him not drinking any of the water in his bowl. Beardies usually don't like standing water that much. Two of my beardies are 3 1/2 years old and I've never seen them ever set even a toe in their water dish. Your beardie will get water from the things he eats, and his baths. If you are worried about him not getting enough water, you can use veggies with more water or give him more baths.