New- soon to be owner

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi!
I’m brand new to bearded dragons, I’ve always wanted one and now that I’ll be moving into my own apartment soon with my boyfriend, I am determined to get one. I have already purchased the Exo-Terra 40 gallon terrarium, 36x18x18. I’m in the process of doing nonstop research with my extended break in college and am hoping for some advice. I am a college student, so I don’t have a ton of money. I want to spoil the beardie, but on a budget. I already plan on getting the Zoo Med Reptisun 10 UVB, unless there is a better option. I am completely lost on the lighting and heat part. Every time I think I find a good basking light or heat lamp, the reviews make me doubt it. I’m hoping for some advice on what to purchase with my size terrarium. I also am looking into the decoration parts, like basking spots, hides, etc. I was wondering if there are ways to make it myself? I want to make sure that any supplies I buy to make it would be safe for it. Are there better or safer options instead of making them? I’d rather make sure it’s safe and spend a little more because of it. Thank you so much!

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4