Do beardies 'love'?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Do Bearded Dragons feel love?

Hi there. I am an animal welfare student and have to produce a investigative project of my choosing. I have chosen to investigate the bond between bearded dragon and human and explore the possibility of beardies feeling affection.

I would appreciate it if you could comment with your personal experience with your bearded dragon, any moments where you felt that the bond between you and your dragon was more than just about food. Any moments where your dragon exhibited affectionate behaviour or simply describe the bond you have with your dragon.

I will be using these in my project, so provide as much detail as necessary.

Thank you in advance for your replies, I look forward to reading them!

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
My experience is they can become very strongly bonded to their keeper and show they are happy to be nursed and petted by them by displaying their "happy colors" and will seek out this person and even follow them and come to them when called.

I think a lot more goes on in their brains than most give them credit for.

I'll point out it's very strongly correlated to how the keeper interacts with them and has a lot to do with how they nutured by the keeper.

If someone asked me - I'd say yes , they can love their human (but it's not like a pet dog or a pet rat or a pet pig or a pet parrot ) it's more akin to how a pet cat related to it's person.

All four of my previous pet bearded dragons had unique personalities, and interacted with us differently. I'm expecting my two new hatchlings to be different again , though Cleo is already showing a willingness and desire to have human contact and interaction (loves being nursed and petted already (we bought her at 2 months old from a breeder on Friday).