New beardie owner looking for feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

JKACZMAR

First off thank you so much for this website!!! I am a newbie to owning a beardie and I’ve spent countless hours on the blogs reading and it’s helped me immensely!

I bought Fred for my 12 year old son a month ago and fell instantly in love with this little guy. Well at least I think he’s a male. He has been an awesome eater from the time we brought him home and very easy to handle. We feed crickets, horn worms (not everyday staple) and dubia’s. Offer him salad of which I switch up to keep it interesting but he never touches it. Have only given him a handful of baths because we haven’t had him long but recently bathed daily because he went through a major shred. He scared me to death because last thurs he just quit eating and didn’t eat until yesterday. He looked so thin!! I had an appt to take him to the vet this morning but yesterday noticed his shed and figured this had to be the cause. Low and behold he ate 15 crickets last night and today ate so much! Pooping has always been good.

So I’ve been struggling with getting the temps/humidity right. So I have a 100basking bulb and a reptisun 10.0 coil on the left hand side. A 24 hood with T5 10.0 reptisun tube. And on the right I have a 75basking bulb. This setup has kept the humidity down to 40%. Before it was far too high at 60% even with taking water bowl out. So the cool side is typically 85-90 and the basking side 96-98 on average (was more like 105 prior to Sunday but vet told me that was too warm). When I put a 100 watt there it gets so hot. Like almost 115 at one point. Any thoughts on how to better regulate my setup so he’s comfy? He doesn’t seem upset or anything and is quite content. I turn it all off at 7 and he’s out and sleeps until 6 when they come back on.

I would love suggestions on how to improve to keep him healthy. I ordered a temp gun today to get better readings as well.

Thanks!!

VenusAndSaturn