3 month old beardie diet

Status
Not open for further replies.
Recently, I got a baby bearded dragon from a friend who- to put it nicely- was not caring for him well. I recently purchased zoo med UVB and UVA basking lights, though I would like to switch to the reptisun brand in the near future. I also purchased thermometers for both sides of the terrarium as well as objects for my beardie to climb/bask on. The girl who had him before me had NONE of this. Sad, right? However, one thing I am confused about is the diet for my baby beardie. He's so small right now that I just don't know what to feed him. I've been giving him raw asparagus, peeled cucumbers, strawberries, and blueberries. I purchased a protein powder for dusting his live food in. However, the girl before me could not get him to eat live crickets, and quite frankly neither can I. So, I purchased Fluker's Buffet Blend Juvenile Bearded Dragon Food. I was wondering what else I should do. I'm totally new to this and I need all the help I can get. Please critique me and give me advice!!

Thank you
-Madeline

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
3 month old:

MINIMUM two (2) feeds of live insects per day (as many insects per meal as it will eat)
best options are
>>>> large BSFL (get the active white lavae)
>>> silkworms (can handle silkworms as long as 30mm)
>>> 1/4 size to 1/3 size crickets ( ie small to medium size ) , gutloaded with high calcium leafy greens and adult beardie pellets ( these are very good cricket food ) , all dusted LIGHTLY with calcium dust/powder.
>>> similar sized roaches or locusts see above.

Offer shredded high calcium leafy greens and grated vegs daily BUT if the hatchling ignores the salad don't worry , just give the stuff left to the crickets/roaches/locusts.

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
madeline99":3r4fcpnd said: