Some questions, am new.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArticZMSZ

Hiya, everyone. I'm kind of new to reptiles, I think I used to own frogs like 9 years ago? I dunno, I was like 7 at the time.
Anyways, that's beside the point, so I have done tons of research, and gotten exactly what I need for an enclosure (I believe) and am getting all that somewhere around next friday, the thing is, I really don't know where I am going to get my beardie. I'm pretty sure ill get him online, however I'd have to be home from school that day... ah anyways, there is a petco and petsmart in my area, should I check there? I know they can be bad, I just don't know what to look out for aside from sand and a few other things such as improper lighting and starvation.

VenusAndSaturn

Sub-Adult Member
Expos and local pet stores are good places to get beardies. And by local pet stores i mean the small business ones that are only in that area. If you do go to petco and petsmart make sure the beardie is alert, active, doesnt have any stuck shed or missing toes, just generally looks healthy.

If your only options are from a pet store chain, I would be sure to bring your new beardie into the vet as soon as possible, even if he seems healthy and alert. Pet stores are notorious for carrying animals with parasites, and dragons that have adenovirus.

karlys

Before we really knew what we were doing, my bf got his beardie first from a local reptile store purely based on the fact that he wanted an orange or red one and they had them. A month later, I got my beardie at Petsmart because I wanted a "plain" brown one and the reptile store only had morphs.