Almost Buried my Beardie Alive? Then I read about Rigamortis

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatLizardGuy

Hatchling Member
Not sure what is going on.

Last Night Went to give my Beardies Hornworms noticed one was sleeping which is odd.

Picked her up and she was lifeless.

So Depessed.

I looked up ways to bury Beardies this morning and read that when a Beardie Dies they become Stiff from Rigamortis.

She was Warm and not stiff at all.

Also read belly would be purple and spread - not the case.

So I figured maybe she is in Brumation but I have no experience with it since none of my beardies have ever gone through it and have been keeping them for 6-7 years.

But I read they sleep in brumation but if you touch them they will at least open their eyes and look at you.

My friend said when his Tegu died his tongue came out.

Hers is not out and she looks normal just does not move at all.

When I turn her over upside down she doesn't even move.

I am so confused I have seen videos of peoples beardies that died and they were stiff.

I left for work at 1:30 PM and she was still not stiff at all.

So I am so confused.

Is she alive or dead?

If she is alive I almost buried her alive !!!!

I read Rigamortise sets in at 30 Minutes but this has been going on for 9 hours minimum from when I noticed to when I left for work.

The Night before she was alert and fine - next day I assumed she died.

She hasnt lost her color like people say beardied do when they die but she is absolutly lifeless.

People aslo said she would smell but she doesn't

What do I do?

Please Help I feel so bad.

AHBD

BD.org Sicko