Honestly, reptiles are not good pets...

Status
Not open for further replies.

charmander16

Juvie Member
We got a reptile because my kid wanted one and I didn't know any better.

Now that we have our dragon, we love him and we've gone all out to provide the best care possible, but since taking this on I've learned a lot and from what I can see, honestly, reptiles should not be sold and marketed as pets to the degree that they are. They are VASTLY over marketed and over sold.

We are enjoying our dragon and we are providing a good home, but I can see that it requires a huge effort and a lot of research and resources. I'm an engineer, with a good job, solid income, stable house, etc. Caring for a reptile is hard for someone like me. I've been someone who couldn't do it in the past. It's just like having kids. Yeah, I'm doing it now, but I know I've been at many points in my life when I couldn't have done it (well). I've had many points in my life when I couldn't possibly have cared for a reptile.

Can some people take good care of them? Yes, absolutely. Can some people truly enjoy them? Of course. Can some people provide them with a truly enjoyable life? Sure...

However, I'd be willing to bet that only about 5% or perhaps less of the reptiles that make it into a pet store end up in a good home home for a lifetime. That's appalling. I could be wrong, but I seriously don't think so.

I think that Pet Smart and PetCo and the internet have played a big role in expanding the reptile market to a point well beyond what it should be. IMO, no reptile has any business in a big box pet store. I'd even go so far as to say that concerned reptile owners should lobby to force removal of all reptiles from chain stores.

I think we need to do a better job as a community of being honest about reptile care and ownership.