The Great Cricket Round Up, there's got to be a better way!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashpd2006

So tonight I was cleaning Mario's tank and when I moved some stacked tile I had in there dozens of crickets emerged. Obviously I was mistaken when I thought I had removed every cricket at night. We just got him last week so I am new to all of this, but after standing over his tank trying to remove the crickets 1 by 1, I got to thinking that there has to be a better way to remove them, other than my dyson. Lol.

So, how does everyone else go about this? I should have my Phoenix worms here tomorrow and he also loves dubias, so I may just be done with the crickets....I HATE CRICKETS!

lillahine

Im a new owner but so far i found that if you take an empty paper towel roll and fold one end over than kinda scoop them up they usually crawl right in. Other than that im using my hand and usually i end uo killing them by accident. Hope that helps :D

lilblack94gt

Hatchling Member
The best way to avoid extra crix in the tank is to use a separate rubbermaid tote to feed in. That way you can just plce the beardie in there and not have to worry about crix eating your beardie at night.

jsnsan

Juvie Member
That's why I don't feed mobile crickets. I got tired of doing that very thing. I put mine in a ziplock, and then put them in the freezer for a couple of minutes...It immobilizes them for a few minutes until they warm up. Then, you can either feed them in a bowl, or hand feed them, or use tweezers, or... You get the idea :D
Once your beardie has eaten all they wanted, put those crickets back in the cricket keeper for next time. They warm back up in about 5-10 minutes and start moving around at that point. Just dont freeze them for too long, or you end up with dead crickets.

Dooter

Sub-Adult Member
This is the biggest reason I hate crickets!!! :angry5: :banghead: