How often do adult Beardies go pottie

Status
Not open for further replies.

COldham

Couldn't think of a better way of putting it. I have just acquired a Beardie (a little over a year old). I brought him home last Friday. The day I got him, store noticed that it seemed one leg was a little limp but didn't seem to know why. I immediately got on internet and connected to this web site. I read the article about impaction but Spike doesn't seem to have level of symptoms to indicate he has this. I massaged him and held him as well as placed him over the under-aquarium heat pad (he is in fact moving all legs now). None the less I have given him warm bath as well (nothing). I called back to the store who had him for approximately one week and they stated that he had done something the second day there - nothing since.

I love him and am glad I have him. Just need to know how often do adults poop - maybe I am worrying about nothing. Thanks

COldham

Original Poster
I am new to this so I posted this and then started browsing other posts. Found many already addressing a similar type issue. I am reading all of them, trying some additional methods offered and hope to see results soon.

WOW. Just like raising your first child....thank goodness for this sight because, unlike with your first child, Mom probably wouldn't be able to help me with Spike....

Mommy of Sunny

Juvie Member
I had the same question awhile ago. I found that most answers were "once a day" for one that age.

My Sunny usually goes every couple of days. So if I know he is "due", I give him a nice warm bath. I noticed that if the water is warmer, he goes much more quickly. If the water is luke warm, he doesn't seem to go, but if it is warmer, he goes right when I put him in the sink. As long as the water is not too hot for you, I think it will be AOK for your beardie.

I like to have him go in the sink so that I don't have to clean his viv!! :wink:

COldham

Original Poster